Paper Tales

November 16, 2010 at 2:39 PM (crafts, handmade, origami, paper, paper sculpture, recycled, Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )

Okay, I’m not a treehugger — never have been, never will be.   That said, I do delight in nature’s clean fresh beauty.  Living in Bali has brought me a new appreciation and awareness of  my eco-surroundings, and inspired me to make better use (or reuse) of materials that would otherwise  contribute to our still semi-primitive waste disposal problems. Today’s post is basically just a few words and some photos about some of the crafts I’ve been working on within that context for my business for the past few months. I’d like to get some feedback and welcome any comments on these.  The first one is my Lotus sculpture:

Blue Lotus paper sculpture

Pink Lotus paper sculpture

My assistant, Nik, provided the inspiration for my Lotus when she presented me with her Yoga Meditation sculpture:

Nik's Yoga Meditation paper sculpture

Isn’t that awesome!  — she’s so creative.  But that wasn’t all…

We do mostly handmade Christmas items – ornaments, garlands, etc. – so Nik made these one day.

Origami Drops

We call them Origami Drops, and sell them in a 12-pack assortment.  They’re really cute, and have become quite popular.

Hope you like these little creations.  More to come.

3 Comments

  1. Kristina said,

    The lotus looks super cool! I can totally see a metallic one being a holiday decoration.

    • ibumary said,

      Thanks, Kristina. I’ve actually already done that. I’ll try to remember to get a photo and post it. And thanks for stopping by.

  2. Linda Lewis said,

    These are delightful, but then I have a hard time not liking anything handmade.

Leave a Reply

