Sea Fan Vingnette

April 2, 2011 at 4:22 PM (crafting) (, , , )

Quite a while back,  I bought a sea fan (gorgonia) just because I found it absolutely fascinating – and I knew I could do something with it.  As you may know, these things actually have a little “rootball” at the base, so I kept trying to figure out how I could adhere it to – whatever, and still keep a bit of the root exposed.  Well, I finally decided to just do it.  I chose silver, light blue & white as the color scheme, and added a touch of gold highlights.

Undersea Trove vignette

I had an old (clean) styrofoam produce tray on hand, so after I painted it, I filled in the bottom with a bit of a glue/sand/pebble mix and secured the root of the sea fan into it.  I let that dry/cure for 2 days (so humid here in Bali!), then decided on an arrangement of seashells, some broken pieces of coral, and a little capiz shell sea turtle I had in my stash, and glued all that around the base.   It looked like a natural undersea treasure trove but unfinished, so I draped a garland of mini-shells through the fan branches and spilling over the sides of the container.  Then I sprayed on a little more silver & gold highlights.   Voila!  I think it turned out quite nicely and I’ll definitely be working more with these gorgonia in the future.   I’d appreciate your comments on this piece.

Leave a Reply

