Shiny Snack Bag

April 13, 2011 at 6:26 PM (crafts, foil, origami, recycled) (, , , , )

Oh yeah, I know — not another wreath, please!!! Sometimes too much of a good thing can just make you blurry-eyed.  But I really fell in love with those book page wreaths that I found first at Living with Lindsay .  I found other versions here and here and here

Well, I did post a lousy photo a while back of a wreath I made from the little foil snack bags but I was able to get a much better picture this time (but I saved it for almost last).  I had already made a few of the wreaths from the book pages using Lindsay’s tutorial.  Here they are:

 

My first Book Page Wreath: antique gold tip with red glittered floral picks

 

 

Another one with some splashes of green added

 

Anyway I had all these little plastic foil snack bags that I wanted to use, so I thought the bright colors would make a great wreath.   Again, using Lindsay’s tutorial as a guide, I cut the bags open then cut them into three (almost equal) pieces across the length and proceeded to heat up the glue gun.  One thing I discovered while gluing these in place was that the plastic foil gets extremely hot and you have to hold each piece in place a bit longer than with just paper.  My fingers were one major mass of tenderness for about 2 days.  It’s difficult to see in this photo, but I had enough pieces to put 2 rows around the outside edge and another 2 rows around the inside.  That left me with a big white space in between, so I filled it in with telephone book pages (probably a good thing – tone down that shiny glare from the foil) and then added some foil-lined wrapping paper that I cut to look like a tinsel garland (that’s the blue & white frilly-looking stuff in the middle).  Still needed something, so I glued in two different kusodama flowers I had laying around and splashed some acrylic bluewash onto the phonebook paper.  Not sure I like the way it looks in this photo, but it actually looks pretty decent hanging on the wall.

 

 

Plastic foil snack bags with telephone book pages

 

Okay, so I saved the best for last.  When I showed my friend Nik how to make a kusudama ball with the origami flowers, she played around with them and came up with this cute wreath.  It’s about `12 inches across.  I love it!! How about you?

 

 

Origami Wreath from foil-lined paper

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

